Cavorting with the Enemy

So here I am, 100 miles away from home. Grendal has a panel interview with a railway company and I have no clue how to kill time. We left home early, had a quick breakfast and no coffee. So as he goes off to wait, I need to entertain myself. Without pause I grab a book (The Backyard Homestead) and my kindle then head to the one place I know that I can bum around in: Starbucks.

I’ve worked for the company before, leaving 4 months shy of 2 years. I learned much of my coffee knowledge from them. Hell, I never drank coffee before working there. I perfected my cappuccino game there and learned to love lemonade and tea mixes. The customers were okay and there were only a few coworkers that were worth the time. Once I left I really didn’t go back or miss the place.

Except for your free pound of coffee a week. That was nice.

So I get myself a small(no, I am not doing the lingo) vanilla soy latte. A little over 4$ here. There was something is that screamed. Maybe it even died. Why? The same item at the coffee shop I work in, it’s half the price. Not to mention it tastes better. No, I’m not harping on Starbucks because it is a previous employer and I am disgruntled. Far from it. They got me into coffee. I do know a fine cup of coffee when I taste one, though.

(I tried inserting a video from Twin Peaks here but my kindle said no)

The latte was subpar. Whether it was due to the barista or just the product is debatable. It has been YEARS since I’ve been to a Starbucks so I don’t know if this is the norm. All I know is that I can make a better drink than this.

Now I have to hope that I don’t get the stink eye from Divo.

I had to tell him. He would find out eventually.

Leave a Reply

