I’m Not Bitter, I Just Don’t Like You

I seem to complain a lot.  There is always something wrong and I vent here.  Woe unto me.

It’s not true, though.  During my time on the executive board of a college club (I worked my way from secretary up to president) I came to the conclusion, rather quickly, that when a person is content they are quiet.  When they’re upset or irritated by something they whip out the megaphone and let the world know.  There are people that don’t fit that ‘norm’ but I see it more often than not.  It appears that I am one of those people.  I will try to highlight the good stuff this time around and ignore the maelstrom of crap that is happening in my sphere of life(which prompted the upbeat title of this post).

Next month is the year mark of my marriage to Grendal and, in October, it will be our 10 year anniversary of being together.  We’ve been wondering if we should celebrate both.  Not much changed when we signed the papers and threw that party last June.  We had been living together for nearly our entire relationship by that point, so there wasn’t anything like that.  Our relationship is unconventional, if you go by the ‘classic’ way of things.  Oh well.

Anyway, anniversary!  We’re heading up north a little bit and settling into a hotel for a few days.  A nice couple of days hiking.  Expect pictures.  Maybe lots of them.  I don’t know.

Because of this sojourn we’ve been tight on money, which kinda bites because something interesting was released this past week: J. R. R. Tolkien’s translation of Beowulf.  I was excited because, well, it was Tolkien and Beowulf!  I don’t own a copy of Beowulf in general and neither does Grendal.  I’ve been tempted to surprise him with it, though I don’t know how excited he would be.  Plus, we don’t have that budgeted in.  Most likely after our vacation and my next tattoo session I can order that.  Then we get to argue about the owner of said book.

And I can donate to this awesome kickstarter:  Bring Reading Rainbow Back.  Yes, I was one of those kids who watched and loved that show(play the theme and I can sing along, just like the rest of you).  I watched LeVar on ST:TNG and was confused/happy when I saw him on a different show(I was young and didn’t know you could do more than one show).  Imagine how I felt when I saw the episode where they were on the set of the Enterprise!   I don’t do the kickstarter bit, yet this one has got me dancing.  I will be putting money out on this if/when I get the chance.  Crossing my fingers that I can go for the 100$ and get some stuff(I want a coffee mug, dammit).

I suppose last on the list of happy things(for the moment), we’ve started watching season 2 of Hannibal!  I am super excited and so is Divo, and to a certain extent Grendal.  We have been limited to two episodes a week so we don’t burn out.  Part of me understands but the child in me is throwing a fit because I want to see what happened NOW.  So yes, got up to episode 3(extra episode on Monday due to the holiday[don’t judge me]) and now we wait.

I am antsy.

I wanna see more mayhem and manipulation.

And Mads.

hannibal

 

Yeah……

One thought on “I’m Not Bitter, I Just Don’t Like You

  1. Lhu Wen Kai says:

    It kinda scares me how I didn’t realise how most things and people around me are like that till I finished reading your paragraph. #feelingenlightened

Leave a Reply

