My Tower Crumbled

In a not so spectacular way either.

Two days before Valentine’s Day the boss came into the office while I was doing some work.  She waited until another coworker left the office and closed the door.  It was time for something serious.  Really serious.  The store was closing.  Not only that but the store was closing in three days.  I was the only one to know for most of a day, thanks to my status of store manager(whee).  Then it began to trickle down through the ranks.

Our household of three employed people was suddenly down to one.  We have had our home for only 3 months and the shit hit the fan in a major way.

I remember sitting in a stunned state up front, trying to go through the motions and trying to remain chipper with a coworker who had yet been informed.  I remember calling out to the gods in my head.  Weeping in my mind and hoping that something positive would happen.

I spent Valentine’s Day filling out applications for a job that would pull more in then the job that Grendal helped me get.  For the time being I am a bus assistant at a local school district.  It is something new.  It is interesting.  It helps us, barely, pay our bills.  Most of all, it keeps me from slipping into depression.  Grendal fretted over me and I finally cried a week after I was first told that the store would be no more.

I am employed.  Divo is employed.  For the moment we are safe, but not comfortable.

Grendal pushed for us to find a table for our altar. We found one and it is up. We placed the items on it. We placed offerings out.

Even my mother told me to pray and place offerings out for the gods.

I am seeing things. More like little signs. A book I read. Seeing a bottle of wine I associate with Odin (Ravenswood) at a restaurant where it is an atypical brand.

It seems like I need to listen. Someone is trying to reach out and I have to accept the aid.

Leave a Reply

